An Image a Day

By GeeEss

Rosalita ( Come out Tonight )

Music and Rugby were my interests as a youngster and when I developed ( Excuse the pun ! )  an interest in photography in my late teens early twenties it was only natural that I combined photography with my musical interests and take my camera to gigs . There were many difficulties to overcome doing this. Smuggling your camera in was the first something I managed every time bar once. I got my camera , an Olympus OM1 SLR confiscated at a Peter Gabriel Gig at Edinburgh Odeon . I was reunited at the end of the concert. I remember going to the managers office where there was about 20 cameras lying on his desk awaiting collection. Once you were in you had to be careful that you were not spotted by the bouncers at the front of the stage. Your equipment was limited in a way that modern day cameras are not. The biggest drawback then was having to manually focus while trying to avoid being seen was sometimes a struggle. You were however sometimes rewarded with some great images. Here is The Boss at The Edinburgh Playhouse in 1982 on his " River " tour performing Rosalita. This is a scan of a badly developed film in which many of the frames were unusable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.