Cactus Macro

This macro shot of a tiny cactus we have growing in a herbarium was created from 31 shots which were then focus-stacked. Although there cactus is only about 2cm high and wide I wanted to have it sharp from front to back. My poor computer was struggling with such a big file and took at least ten minutes to process each stage of the photo stack but I am quite pleased with the result as the spines  of the cactus bristle from edge to edge. My camera , Fuji xt3 allows me to automatically focus bracket so there is no danger of accidentally moving between shoots, you just focus on the nearest point of focus and it automatically takes a range of shots. Using the electronic shutter this takes next to no time so the hard work is all saved for post-processing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.