Freddie Mercury

I had hoped to post  better photos of the seal rescue but sadly he was contained in the lock further away from the towpath so we could not see much. However, he was skilfully and successfully caught  in huge nets by the British Divers Marine Life Rescue team, brought up to the quay where the vet managed to remove the offending hook and lure quite easily. He was given antibiotics, then caged and taken down to Sheppey where he was released. Julia from BDMLR told me that the seal was tagged. He is a young male, less than a year old - registered in the Netherlands where he was named Freddie Mercury! He left Holland, swam to Calais where he was rescued and treated for lungworm, he was then released, and found his way to Teddington Lock - quite a traveller. Once he was in the van I was allowed just to take a photo of Freddie in the carrier with my phone.
I have since heard that the release went well and Freddie came out of the carrier and made his way into the sea with no problems. I do wish I could have been there to see that..
A week ago I never thought that a seal pup called Freddie Mercury would take up residence in my heart.
My extra is a screenshot of my Twitter feed - the photos are not mine, sent to me by Gemma, the Lock Keeper.
The whole week has been great - the interaction with many caring people to organise this rescue was so gratifying. In these troubled times it is lovely to be involved in such a wonderful story.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.