Last Light

Icicles dangling from the gutters by the kitchen window provided an ever changing light and color show throughout the day.  I liked this one for its simplicity, a running theme with me lately. 

I enjoyed a solo walk from Wiley Creek to the river, then over, through, and around the part of Jackson Field that remains open.  The heavy construction equipment is parked in my favorite blue bird nesting  area, much to my chagrin.  The sun came out shortly after I started, so I was basking, basking, basking.  The creek was frozen with footprints crossing from bank to bank.  The sides of the river were frozen too.  The heavy blanket of snow gave the woods that magical touch.

In a somewhat related topic (?), it turns out that many snowflakes are actually similar, unlike what we were told that no two are alike.  Thanks to photographer Wilson Bentley,  we now know how ice crystals grow and can classify different styles.  There's one more trivial question answered, with much more information here.

0 degrees F tonight!

Happy weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.