JoolzFawcett

By JoolzF

Derby Beach

Derby hasn't got a beach, on account of it being a long way from the sea, but today I came across this spot which is the closest thing to a beach you are going to find around here.

I went for a lunchtime walk with my friend R on the footpath along the River Derwent. We normally turn back when we reach Alvaston Park, but today we decided to venture on a bit further. We came across this spot where the river drops through a weir and becomes much wider. You can step down here from the river bank onto this bank of shingle and sand. I am guessing the current slows with the sudden widening of the river, causing it to drop its sediment.

You can only see the shingle here but there is some sand too. It looked rather attractive in the sunshine. I think I shall take my bucket and spade next time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.