Getting there

The warm weather continues. Our next door neighbours (700 metres away) with a sun exposed garden have first snowdrops I have seen this year. I took a look in our garden and not the slightest sign of the buds trying to break the surface.

The horses are fighting with the annual change of coat. Cold at night but warm during day, they sweat like crazy when being exercised. The result is loads of the fine under-hair on the yard which we often don't rake up as the wild birds like to use it for nest building.

Encouraged the chickens to scratch around in the vegetable patch today where the mounds of horse manure I dumped there in autumn needs to be spread out a bit before I can start to get the plot back under control. There were lots of worms which is great for the soil and chickens.

On the evening walk saw the first slurry spreading has started, so I guess the winter ban period is officially over. I spotted it not by sight but smell!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.