YellowBalloon

By YellowBalloon

Well I Never Knew

I have lived in my village or the surrounding area all my life and have been in the park thousands of times.  At the minute I seem to cut through it daily on my walk.  I have always known it as Whickham Park or Chase Park.  Today as I was entering it with Mr YB he noticed the above stone carving set in the wall.  I have never seen this or have never known the park referred to as King Georges Field.

Of course I had to google it on my return and found out that a King George Field is a public open space in the UK dedicated to the memory of King George V who died in 1936.  After the King died a committee was set up to find a memorial that was not based on the idea of a statue.  It was agreed to set up the King George Fields Foundation with the aim of establishing playing fields throughout the UK and Northern Ireland for the use and enjoyment of the people.  The fields were to be distinguished using heraldic panels as seen above.  In 1965 there were 471 King George Playing Fields throughout the UK.  I hope they have all survived.

I can't believe how many times I must have walks past the stone panel.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.