LD 335 Planting Mistletoe

Whilst we have lots of holly (and berries in a good year, though this wasn't one) we have no mistletoe anywhere around us.    I suspect it is much less common in Scotland than in England and Wales but I know it does grow.

Consequently when I discovered that I could purchase the seeds on line  I decided to give it a try, though there was a waiting list. 

They arrived on Friday and I planted them today, following the instructions and  was - as the leaflet suggested I would be - amazed at how sticky the seeds are when pressed out of the berries.   This was my first try but I got better at squeezing the gel from the seeds themselves.  

As they will take several years to come to anything the supplier also suggests that you mark where you have put them , so there are a few apple trees , cotoneaster and blackthorn which now have little tags tied on. 

They may come to nothing, because  predation by birds is just the commonest of many potential problems, but we shall see.   

My extra picture shows them before planting. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.