When we were VERY young.

WHITE RABBITS!!

1st of a series of "histerical rollicks", or something of that ilk. (Hands up all those who don't know what an Ilk is.) (Apologies to "Last of the Summer wine".)

When Ah waz a lad..,., The nearest swimming baths was a whole eight miles away in Wigton, a fair journey in those, far off, days and in consequence I'd done no more than paddle in the sea at Alonby prior to secondary education.
Access to the baths was over a style in the school wall, down a grassy field, over the fence at the bottom and along the short bit of lane.
My first width of the baths was, I must admit, a major triumph, coz Olympic I surely was not.
As the years rolled by I became a natural sinker, due to an over-developed set of Quads etc. We used to bike, or bus to the baths and I once set off from the baths as my mates set off for the bus and followed it into Aspatria with the conductor chatting with me on the "back-step of the bus" and trying to advise me what size of gear cog I needed.
:¬))
One memorable occasion I/we was/were doing "half-arms"etc. from the bath side at the deep end, using a towel to pad the concrete and provide a head-spot. Clever-bugger did a hand-spring, slipped and wakened up on the bottom of the six-foot end in more or less the classic "recovery" position. I learned later that the gang were assembled on the edge debating whether or not I was "foxing" them, or they should leap in and haul me out, when I twitched and swam back up. Somehow or other I'd apparently hel my breath whilst unconscious. DUH?!?!

More to follow ... You can't say you weren't warned.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.