My Act Of Remembrance

22.2.11 at 12.51pm we remember the Christchurch Earthquake when 185 people lost their lives and the city was changed forever.  My connection is the lovely daughter who was working in the city that summer day.  She still does but in a lower building of only five floors.  The previous building was 15 floors.  Ten years on I am still grateful to her boss who walked her home although he once said I thought she was walking me home.  I am grateful for the resilient young woman she has been throughout those ten years.  
On the beach this morning I looked for an image to reflect how I feel about the earthquake.  This piece of wood in the launching ramp has a pattern like a spiral or koru which in Maori art is a symbol for new life, growth, strength and peace.  I see the concrete ramp that man has made into the sea is being covered by small sea creatures.  The wave action will wear at the concrete.  We think we can take control of nature and errect permanent structures.  The earthquake showed us just how much control we really have.  I still find Leonard Cohen's Anthem to be calming words.  
. . . Ring the bells that still can ring
Forget your perfect offering
There is a crack, a crack in everything
That's how the light gets in . . . 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.