Quake Memorial daisies

Today is the 10th anniversary of the dreadful earthquake that devastated Christchurch, 22 February 2011.
185 people died, countless people were injured and thousands of buildings destroyed & damaged. It was horrifying. I was in the CBD, and sheltered under a desk, hearing glasses smashing in a kitchen next door. I tried to drive home but had to hitch a ride. My house was badly damaged, smashed windows, torn wallboards and debris everywhere. I lost 4 dinnersets and all the family crystal. But I was ok, physically.

There was a wonderful Memorial Service in Christchurch today. Friends went and said it was poignant, full of sad memories and thankfulness too for the way ahead. I’d love to have been there.

Quite a few years ago, when I still lived in Christchurch, I brought home a cutting of daisies growing in a deserted garden in the CBD. It grew so well and eventually covered a large part of the bank above the driveway.
They were my quake memorial. So I’ve photographed some today, growing in a friend’s garden, here at the Village.

Kia kaha. Be strong. We used to say it each other often.
Nga mihi
Jillian

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.