Southern Crested Grebes Families.

Well, as my blip and extras show we went back up to Lake Alexandrina to photograph the Crested Grebes and babies.  Take a look at the extras, they help to tell the story.
My set tonight is the one family, we think just hatched today....one egg left in the nest.  Happy and busy families.  I just think they are adorable, and so privileged to be able to sit and watch them at such close quarters (600mm lens).  These haven't been cropped which indicates how close we were, without being intrusive to their family comings and goings.  Those little fellows are so stoic and determined for day old's.  The parents, especially the partner in the waters was carting two of them around at times, collecting feathers to give to the chick.  Not sure what that is all about, but must be important.  
(From Google - "Did you know grebes eat their own feathers, and feed them to their young.  The function of this behaviour is uncertain but it is believed to assist with pellet formation and to reduce their vulnerability to gastric parasites")

A simply awesome day out, spent with my friends.  We took a picnic lunch and sat on the banks chatting and photographing.

I took 748 images, and tonight have only looked at about half of them....many have hit the bin as I was on rapid fire.  So worth it though, as that makes sure at least one would be successful and or sharp.  
Difficult conditions at times, with grasses in the road, and when the sun came we had to deal with high contrast.  
I've prepared these at night, I don't as a rule edit at night as I find when I look at them in daylight they can be too dark.  I have another look in the morning and ay have to increase the exposure.

It is ten years since the devastating earthquake in Christchurch, killing 185, injuring so many more and caused wide spread damage through out Christchurch and Canterbury.  
A memorial service was held at the time 12.51pm and we on the banks of the stream spoke of it at that particular time.  The images we are seeing tonight on the TV news brings all the pain back again....

Rainie

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.