Nothing happens here...

By StuartDB

My new toy...

After procrastinating for a couple of years about joining the Ordnance Survey subscription service I've finally gone ahead.  I must say it makes me wonder what I was dithering for.  I think it's because I have an abhorrence and mistrust of subscription based apps ever since Adobe started their outrageously expensive rental system for Photoshop, InDesign, Illustrator et al.   

With my new found enthusiasm for walking I thought I'd update my iOS apps and this was my first choice.  £26pa for access to every 1:25 000 OS map in the UK seemed very reasonable, particularly as reading maps is a favourite pastime.  I can use this app across iPhone, iPad and iMac.  Unfortunately after 12 hours of use it is already taking over my life!  I think I'll go to Oban later today and check out all the walks and trails for my visit later in the year.

If anyone can recommend an app that measures your walk and allows waypoints to be added etc I'd love to take a look at it.  I'm currently using Pacer and Pedometer, free apps but I'd like something that gives me distances between certain locations - that I can add - along the walks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.