Gageldonk Chapel

The medieval spelling was Gageldonc.

This particular chapel is about 300 years old, but there's been a chapel here since before the 1200s, according to very old texts.  Obviously, when the first one fell into a decline, a new one was built in its place using some of the stones of the old one, and so on through the centuries.  It's called the Maria Dimphina Chapel and was once a spot of pilgrimage, about 15 to 20 minutes away from our house at strolling pace, 10 minutes if you do a really quick trot.

Sunny enough for a good 1.5-hour walk 'around the (rather huge) block', followed by a 2-hour nap.  Don't know what AW did in the meantime, but he had an appointment for evening bridge with Marie, right after dinner.  A few lousy hours for me because of the delays in MNL, wondering what the hell is going on, racking my brains as to all possibilities and options.  I looked around me and counted my blessings but I have taken a huge risk, nevertheless, all things considered.  Filled my time with research, another thing I'm thankful for because it demands diligence and focus.  It took some two extra hours of midnight oil before I decided it was time to go to bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.