La vida de Annie

By Annie

Bambú de la suerte.

One of seven lucky bamboo shoots in the house - I swear by these ("blasted bamboo"!), but maybe one of them has worked for once. I've not had much good luck recently, but driving home from town yesterday any luck I did have almost ran out. I was pootling along driving carefully along the main road and noticed a car approaching on the opposite side, so slowed down a little as you never know what idiocy can occur here. I was almost level with the oncoming vehicle when a car travelling very fast began to overtake it! I was sure it would duck back in, but no, it kept on coming faster than ever! I could see the face of the driver just metres away, and knew for certain we were about to crash. Instinctively I slammed on the brakes, waiting for what I knew would be a terrible, if not fatal impact. The shopping flew off the seat and I thought "this is it; I'm going to die, and the cream crackers I've just bought will be broken." This is Yorkshire thinking I guess. Any road up, as they say there, the oncoming car swerved back onto its side of the road mere centimetres before the collision, and the two cars carried on along the road while I sat there in shock. I don't handle stress very well at all these days, and tried to blank the whole thing out, not even mentioning it on yesterday's cracker blip (fortunately all intact), but had a dreadful night's sleep later and a pounding headache. Small price to pay for still being alive to tell the tale. Thank you, lucky bamboo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.