Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

Momentous

Firstly thank you all for your lovely kind words and messages about the loss of Uncle Jim. He was a real character, still cooking his own pasties and roast dinners right until the last couple of months, and he was so well supported until the end by his four beloved sons. He lived a full life and saw 7 grandchildren grow to be young adults. It’s terribly sad and he will be missed but we are all grateful he did not suffer a long decline.

I don’t think I shall be able to get to Plymouth for the funeral, it’s a long way to go to not actually mix with my family, and after all this time apart I would rather wait and see them properly when we can.

Meanwhile a certain hound has tackled the stairs. I have been sleeping downstairs for four months but during a walk last weekend she trotted up and down some really steep steps by the canal so we decided to be firm with her. Last night we literally had to drag her up and down but after four or five times she gave in. John and I both needed brandy to calm our own nerves!

Today she walked up reasonably happily with me, so we are practising relaxing together after I’ve been cycling round the sights of Paris. The plan is to do this for a week and then see if she settles down for the night. Doubt I will!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.