Day 1

Holidays. Stay-at-Home holidays. Again.

It is 11 months since I spent a week’s holiday sitting in the house after my trip to Tunisia was cancelled. Apart from having had my 1st dose of vaccine*, has anything improved?

I feel 10 years older than I did in March 2020, and having admitted to that, feeling positive becomes a bit of a challenge. 

A proper summer holiday would have been nice. A proper holiday at any time in the last 11 months would have helped to deal with twin lockdown nightmares at work and at home. 

Our friends in London and in their moronic media show every sign of repeating the same mistakes as last year, by encouraging the population to repeat the same mistakes as last year. 

“Save Christmas!” the crowd cried. 

My strategy for Day 1 has been to relax and take it easy. The weather was benign, so I got out into the garden and spent an hour tidying up. I think that still falls within “taking it easy”. I enjoyed it, so perhaps that is the acid test.

For a while after lunch I just sat in the living room and enjoyed the sun shining in. That room does not get any sun for 3 months during the winter. Blipped.

Dinner reduced me to tears**, but turned out to be delicious. My homemade venison burgers with blueberry sauce. Extra-ed.


* I do appreciate having been vaccinated, and whilst I feel less stress about being infected (or infecting someone) all the same precautions are needed. 

** Grating the onion. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.