Things To Make And Do

By Ruthsowandsew

23/2/2021

A beautiful bright and breezy morning to go to the allotment. Unfortunately the bucolic atmosphere of birdsong and emerging daffodils and general spring promise was soon rudely shattered by the arrival of a council woodchipper truck that had come to process a pile of tree prunings on the next plot, causing noise and windblown debris. I suppose I could have gone home and returned later as I live literally 5 minutes door to plot, but instead stubbornly stuck it out, muttering curses and occasionally wiping sawdust out of my eyes. 

The job today was to clear some beds that just had a few bits of winter veg left in, and get them weed-free and mulched ready for new crops.  However I left this purple sprouting broccoli plant that had accidentally got planted in the winter cabbage bed last year (brassica seedlings being more or less indistinguishable from one another until it's too late), as it's showing signs of cropping soon. I've got a whole other bed of PSB but you can't have too much in my opinion. It's had to be placed in protective custody of course, as pigeons also like purple sprouting broccoli.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.