Follow That Man!

Wednesday was a real peach of a day, the pick of the week. It was sunny and breezy and the temperatures reached the mid-50s F. My husband and I packed up our daysacks and our chairs around mid-morning and walked up the hill to the gameland.

We hiked straight up the hill by the electricity pylons through up to 14 inches of pretty much unbroken snow. No, it wasn't easy. This is a photo of my husband in front of me, breaking the trail. My mission: to follow that man!

Once at the top of the hill, we stomped around and cleared spots for our chairs. Then we got out our books and split our time between reading and simply sitting there, enjoying the day. We ate several snack bars and drank water.

At one point, I walked back and looked at our tracks in the snow, and they were teeming with tiny black bugs! Eek! I remembered later that they are called snow fleas, but they are not actual fleas. They are also called springtails, little bugs that come out in late winter/early spring, and you may see a photo of them in the extras of a prior blip.

It was so windy that we eventually moved off the hill and back among the trees. We cleared out a second spot and sat there for another hour or so, before turning our feet toward home. By the time we got back to our house around 4 p.m., we'd hiked about five miles, but it felt like much more in the heavy snow.

My soundtrack song is for the photo above, with my husband leading the way, and my mission simply being to Follow That Man!!!!  The tune is I Will Follow Him, from the film Sister Act.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.