Edgey

By Edgey

Slitrig

With lack of a proper camera, I ventured out on the mean streets of Hawick today. I needed the exercise but I also got my 1st covid jag. 
Having obeyed the rules I have only been going out for food (unless its in the garden), which has unbelievably made me put on about 3 stones in a year (sorry dont do kilos - especially now we are no longer in the EU). Anyway, the 6 pack has been replaced by enough fat to fill the lips of the whole of Scotland's women and now with spring in the air and summer getting bigger on the horizon of 'hope' I found myself in Hawick Town Hall with a retired nurse (think she retired in 1970) and a needle which I didnt feel. She was telling me her husband was in the Merchant Navy (ret), so as ex Merchant Navy myself  I was at her 'station' slightly longer than I should of been. 
I've never been a fan of the UK being in the EU and the UK;s vaccination programme has been 2nd to none. Anyway, when I came out I popped into Morrisons for cat food only to find its gone up in price by £1.50 within a week. "It's because of leaving the EU" the checkout chick explained..... "I would of paid twice as much if it means we are away from the corrupt Brussels establishment" I explained to the checkout chick who by now was eyeing me up with eyes of disbelief .... she then preceded to explain to me that all her friends want to rejoin the EU as they were taught in school that the EU is a good thing and it would mean independence for Scotland. Sorry hunny, that aint independence, its swopping one 'union' for another... I thought better just to leave her to her ignorance and went for a wee walk which is todays blip. 
Tomorrow I will be 57 .... so tonight Im in a reflective mood  ..... Marmalade - Reflections of my life

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.