St Ninians Isle

I had been thinking about what to Blip for the 1000th and could not really come up with anything different so I thought where would I take someone who had only an hour to spend on Shetland? St Ninians Isle of course! Here is a place that has everything - stormy seas, calm seas, sandy beach, seals, porpoise, otters, numerous wild birds, cliffs windswept fields and more often than not I can have it to myself - who could ask for more?

I did do a breakdown of the 1000 blips and you won't be surprised to know that the sea features in over 600 of them. Boats specifically just over 200 and the South Mainland of Shetland over 300.

Never thought I would manage a year let alone 1000 and what a great little website it is. So many people you feel you know and so many places you want to visit and techniques you want to try. If my understanding of blip is correct my first entry was the 597,253th blip and we are now over 2.8 million. My only request is that more people pay the cheap annual subscription to become full members.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.