Liquid bread

As many of you will know we are now into Lent - a period when some folk prepare for Easter by doing penance, and self-denial. I am not a Christian but I'm prepared to make some sacrifices to demonstrate my piety and this is one of them.

Francis of Paola founded an order of monks, the Minims, in the 15th century and in 1634 they established a brewery which they named after him. Paulaner also has a monk's profile as their logo. They brewed beer for the monks and called it Salvator (Latin: Saviour), any beer they had leftover they gave to the poor or old, or they sold it. Strong beers, starkbier in German, were brewed as "liquid bread" to sustain monks as they fasted through Lent. In Munich, Starkbeirfest (a festival to celebrate strong beer - which I think is a fantastic tradition) doesn't start until March but I am happy to go early. 

This evening I'll be drinking starkbier so that you don't have to!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.