A good day (unless you're an eel)

A beautiful day today. Blue sky and Springfield clouds 
ref:   https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/f/f1/TheSimpsons.jpg
Enough to inspire MrsW to accompany me down to the river, which is rare nowadays. Partly because she tires rather quickly these days since her stroke but also because she feels that she "cramps my photographic style". I do try to point out that my photographic style suffers from the cramps whether she's with me or not. 
Anyway the river offered a little bit of drama for us in the shape of a hunting cormorant. There are hundreds of cormorants around here but it's rare to see them catch something. I think they probably swallow their prey before they surface but this one had spotted a swarm of eels so we were treated to a display of eel swallowing. And they weren't small ones! I don't know how many it swallowed but I reckon it's searching for the Rennies right now. Unfortunately I had my little wide angle lens stuck on the front of the camera. I did switch lenses but the resulting shots were grabbed so definitely not main blip material. I've stuck two shots in extras. The second one is awfully blurred but If you can decipher it you will see that the eel has wrapped itself around the neck of the cormorant in a vain attempt to stop being swallowed. Not an image for those who don't like the "crunchy scenes", as MrsW calls them, in nature documentaries. 
Have a great weekend everyone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.