Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

48 six metre lengths

All ready cut for my next macramé project.  It's a tedious job cutting them.  And as I fasten them on the dowel, I will need to tape all 96 ends to prevent them from fraying - an even more tedious job.  Earlier today, the settee behind the creel was piled high with various thicknesses of wadding (see photo in extras).  Also on there is another of Mum's half finished projects - it will get a photo of its own in the future.  I've managed to roll up the wadding and stash it all in a cupboard.  

For some reason best known to my body, it took me ages to get to sleep last night, so I woke still tired this morning, and have felt rather weary all day.  This resulted in feeling a bit down, and this was not helped by two Brexit related frustrations, and a very local builder problem.

Warning - rant coming.

We have a hole in the wall, awaiting the attentions of a builder to hopefully diagnose where the damp is coming from, a damp proofer to sort the damp, and then a builder to restore the wall.  With considerable difficulty - everyone is stuck at home, with nothing better to do with their time and money (if they are lucky enough to have a protected income) then get building projects done - we managed to get a couple of builders round; one did not really impress, the other quoted what seemed a reasonable price for the job.  We accepted the quote before Christmas, but then heard nothing, so W contacted them mid January, was told they could start on 24th Feb - it's been in the diary since.  Wednesday came and went with no sign of the builder, and after three increasingly exasperated phone calls, W finally managed to get a response from someone in the office, who knew nothing about the job, and said that they were now busy with a couple of big jobs, and that there was no way it could now be done before May!!!!!!!!!!  We've booked it for then, but in the meanwhile started looking for someone else to do the job.

And as for Brexsh*t ...........  

I subscribed to a rather nice craft and gardening box for Robin for one of his Christmas presents.  The first box arrived just in time for Christmas, and seems to have been good.  My daughter received a notification from Swedish Customs about the second box, which apparently does not have the correct paperwork.  She has attempted to get it released, but it contains seeds which need a special certificate.  When I contacted the senders of the box a couple of weeks ago, they were apologetic, reckoned that other boxes had got through to Europe, but that although they were honouring current orders, they were no longer taking new orders for Europe, because the paperwork was so complex, and it just wasn't worth their while.  Since then, it has become clear that there is no way R is going to be able to get the second box released, so I think I need to cut my losses, and get my subscription refunded.

I spent some time this afternoon cutting these lengths of thread for my next macramé project, and then went online as I wanted to order some more.  I like this thread, because it is made from recycled cotton, but it is made in Poland.  On the front page of the website for the company in the UK where I had ordered it previously there was a big message - "Stocks of threads are running low as due to Brexit we are unable to get our normal supplies".  I was unable to order most of the threads I wanted.

Hey ho - tomorrow is another day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.