Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Path to the sunset

There were good reasons to be cheerful today. It didn't rain - it didn't even threaten to rain. In fact, the sun shone for much of the time, and we chose the right walk to go in the afternoon as the clouds that had accumulated in the early afternoon weren't over the south of the peninsula and had dissipated by the time we came back up the road. There wasn't much wind and we didn't  need to dress like Nanook of the North or Captain Birdseye. And there was a lovely sunset (blipped) and a spectacular moon.

But ... but ...

We're not free yet (in more ways than one). In fact, strange parts of the countries seem to be erupting in pockets of increased Covidity (I like that word - have I just made it up?) In my own neck of the woods, most of Argyll and Bute have had no new cases for several days, but for some reason Cumbrae and Central Largs, just down the Firth, are two levels further up the scale on the Travelling Tabby map. 

Another rather less cheerful thing is the fact that I woke up with rather startling pain in my little finger. It feels like the sudden onset of arthritis in the bottom joint - but Himself is complaining, quite independently, of similar symptoms. Is this more jag-related belated effects? Or have I just been typing too much? 

Of course, the elephant in the room is going on at Holyrood, if elephants can be said to be going on. I'm not going to be daft enough to pretend I know the ins and outs of what seem to me to have the makings of a Greek tragedy, but I'm royally fed up with it, and with the expressions of glee on the faces of the reporters as they deliver their stuff. However, it would seem that it's not deterring ordinary people from supporting their local candidates financially, judging from the figures I've seen today.

If all that is Greek (like the tragedy) to non-Scottish readers, I apologise. I'm not going to be more specific, not now anyway. I'll just head into the sunset like this path through the fields at Ardyne. The big tree on the right used to have a warning notice about a bull, but it's faded now. My attention was caught by the reflection in the puddles in the distance, as the sun sinks above Bute. 

Extra is of the artificial lake in the grounds of Knockdow House. I take this view so often, but it rarely disappoints. I felt it looked tranquilly beautiful on this least tranquil of days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.