PaulaJ

By PaulaJ

A 'true temple of nature'

No matter how many times I have seen it, the Natural History Museum in London never fails to inspire in me a sense of awe at the beauty of the architecture. I also wonder at the confidence of an era that could set about planning such a building.


As I knew we would be down here this weekend, I realised that we might just make it to the Wildlife Photographer of the Year Exhibition before it finished. Fortunately, I had booked timed tickets before we went to New Zealand, as we arrived at the Natural History Museum to find signs saying it was all sold out.

We first went to the exhibition last year and before we went I was a little concerned that it would just be a selection of technically brilliant, but rather staid pictures of birds and animals. How wrong I was!

The photographs are fabulous. The emphasis is on a much more creative approach than might be expected, in fact one section is called Creative Visions and is judged on artistic merit above anything else. So we see wildlife beautifully photographed, but also excellent composition, atmosphere and imagination. I like the Wildlife in their Environment section. To see a polar bear looking very small in a massive landscape of ice floes is wonderful. All the photographs are thoughtful and most are thought- provoking as well. Many stay in your memory long after you've left the exhibition and that's a good test I would say.

I had bought the book of the photographs before, as I thought we were going to miss the actual exhibition, but to see the photographs in the large format is wonderful. The stories behind the pictures are fascinating. And looking at the cameras, lenses and settings used is also interesting. Finding that some of the best ones were taken with equipment similar to what I have is a bit chastening, to say the least!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.