Haystack says HI Paula

The rest of the story?

I woke up at 23:00 and realized I had enough hours to get back to the company yard since there would be no traffic so I took off. I knew I would be heading for the coast this day but not sure where. First stop at 04:30 was  Cannon Beach Oregon.

It was 46 F with a 30 mph wind but no rain. I had to get to the beach by flashlight as it was so dark. The camera of course could not focus on what it couldn't see and the lens I had could manual focus but it had no marker to show if you were close or far away focusing. With the wind wanting to knock over the camera on the tripod, it was a lot of trial, error, frozen fingers and... This was the best shot after an hour of playing. This is also, straight out of the camera.

I continued on my journey until I reached the end of the road (well it was closed due to bridge work and only open a few hours late at night). That town was Yachats Oregon some 350 miles from home. A cute little town right on the Pacific Ocean with a population of just 700 people. On my way down the vast majority of hotels were booked for the weekend or the had rooms but were way out of my price range. I found an very old hotel with a view for a very reasonable cost AND it was right near a wonderful walking trail along the water. Since this is just an overnighter, I'll be traveling those miles home tomorrow via over the mountains and up the main road.

In the extra you have the view from my room, a local bakery as no trip should be without stopping at a bakery and a residential section of town. Chilly with fog but by water so oh so lovely.. Relaxing beautifully..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.