Texas Life

By txlife

Not Falling Down

As followers may have noted, I'm prone to take photos of aging, often decrepit, often falling down or just abandoned old buildings for my blips. Traveling about Texas has let me see some great old buildings, and to capture some of then before it's too late.

I have had a hard time picking a single photo today, as I've been privileged to see some great old buildings. I selected this wonderful historic home in the beautiful little town of Brenham, Texas. There's a placard by the front door proclaiming this home a Texas Historic Site. Unfortunately, I don't know its story, but it is clearly a private residence today, and lovingly preserved and cared for. Sorry for the unsightly power line running through the photo.

Among other things, Brenham is home to the best ice cream on the planet, Blue Bell. If you've not had it, you're missing out, but it is largely available only in Texas. Forget Ben & Jerry's, Edys, or any of those other fancy brands; Blue Bell is the best. I keep going through Brenham at times other than when plant tours are offered; I need to work on my schedule.

This town also has an old brick Santa Fe Freight building that is now a private residence that looks quite nice and well preserved (if a bit noisy when the trains go slowly by, blasting their air horns.)

Brenham is also kind of the heart of bluebonnet country along Highway 290. There were tons of cars pulled over with families taking photographs among the fields of bluebonnets.

Brenham is the county seat of Washington County, the original capitol of the Republic of Texas, then known as Washington-On-The-Brazos (for the Brazos River.) Great small town.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.