Think, try, share

By JonBusby

Make up girl

I really struggled with two speedlites today. It's the first time I have used two.

The problem was around numerous objects in the background that had their own individual shadows.

In the end I gave up as a lesson learned and decided to stay in the safe zone of a neutral background for now.

I used a second speedlite to join my SB600. I recently bought a Yongnuo 560. They are a fraction of the cost of Nikon or Canon speedlites and are really good build and very easy to use. In fact I prefer it to the Nikon. It's only drawback is that it is manual only but as I work experiment in manual that is fine with me.

It's on the left of this shot and the SB600 is to the right shot through a white umbrella and softbox respectively.

So a lot of shots hit the trash can today but I liked this shot of Lo polishing her nails blue...obviously. I like that is is a candid insight on a 12 year old girl.

I did some post process in iPhoto for iPad and Snapseed, again on the iPad. Usual minor stuff; vignetting, black and white conversion, cropping...nothing major.

Oh and she joined Blip today as, I think, LoisB.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.