Rodents rule

By squirk

Bridges

I caved in. It was a combination of impatience with delayed repair time, the good weather, spring coming, a tax rebate and a couple of new freelance jobs that landed in my inbox today. I rang the London Camera Exchange and asked if they had the camera in stock. They did. Yay! The lady said: "Ooh, the price has just gone up." You don't get that kind of humour from a certain behemoth online retailer (and the price was actually cheaper). 

Soon after, Fred and I were on our bikes and heading to The Strand. Waterloo Bridge has a massive cycle lane now. You may wonder why Fred is walking the bike in the blip rather than cycling. Well, this is the northbound cycle lane and we're heading south with the new camera safely stowed in my pannier. We couldn't figure out how to get to the southbound as we couldn't cross the road. It was nice to see the river at a slow pace.

The Strand was full of construction workers and not much else. With the city being shut in the most part, I guess this is a good time for construction projects unhindered by the mass public.

The London Camera Exchange does repairs, too. I might try them before the Canon repair guys as they'll be quicker. Now I have a new Canon, I'm not desperate, but it would be good to have the old Powershot in the repair shop rather than it gathering dust here.

Now to charge up the camera and see how it differs from my trusty Powershot that needs repair. I went for another bridge camera after umming about getting an SLR. I'm rubbish at reading manuals so I'd never get the best out of a more technical bit of kit. I also take the camera everywhere so it needs to be small enough to carry about and still have a good zoom. I think this will do the trick.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.