"Table for Two, Please?"

Dear Diary,

Another 2-3 inches of snow fell yesterday and no change over to rain as predicted so I will have to call my neighbor to shovel since Matt is away all week.  The good news is we will have some warmer temperatures to help melt things with rain expected tonight and tomorrow. 

Within one minute of the Zoom meeting starting yesterday I realized I'd heard this woman speak at our historical society a couple of years ago.  The lecture was entitled, The Great Turn Out of 1842 and spoke about the first labor strike in Maine.  The mill girls in Biddeford were not successful in their strike but it was the beginning of women organizing politically and led to the suffrage movement later.  I've added an extra from the lecture about the lurid literature of the time about working in the mills.  Mary Bean was a mill girl in Biddeford  who was murdered.  I've read the book by Elizabeth DeWolfe, who was also the lecturer yesterday.  It was quite good.

Sadly, it looks like Gaylord has a permanently injured paw.  It doesn't seem to be working properly and I haven't seen him climbing, poor boy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.