Are we there yet?

By CMHW

Analog image & analog car

My brother had a bag full of my old photos from the 70’s and 80’s. Among them this image of a drag car bought by my good friend Andrew. I lived inHornchurch and he lived in Brentwood, Essex UK, .

He and a few mates of his got together and bought this dragster. They ran it a couple times at North Weald aerodrome but I can’t recall if it ever made it to Santa Pod. It turned out only Andrew was able to master actually driving the car.down the quarter mile.

I reckon this taken about 1982/83 and by 1987 I was working with Andrew brick paving in Sydney Australia, although we had got there by completely different choices and routes.

I returned to the UK 5 years later but Andrew remained and now lives in a stunning home in Queensland. The advent of social media means we keep in touch and today I sent him this image and a few others.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.