madowoi

By madowoi

Sand Beach Sunrise

Early this morning I was drifting in and out of the most vivid and interesting dream. I was in an enormously elaborate old mansion full of ancient masonry and polished wood. The atmosphere was thick with vague threats from an invisible mage and an old woman cutting apples with a stone knife. There were very heavy Narnia vibes.

I woke up with the full moon shining through the window and the cat padding around making little noises. I got up quietly and over a cup of coffee realized I would have just enough time to get across the island for sunrise if I left right away. I slipped my things on, put a note on the counter, and drove off in the dark.

The roads were a bit icy but I took my time and got to Sand Beach a little after the sun cleared the horizon. There was only one other car there and when I came down to the beach the sunlight was just spilling over onto the sand and lighting up Otter Cliffs. It was fabulous, and I would have let out several barbaric yawps if I had been alone. Someone on the far side of the beach was taking photos though, and the two of us wandered around for awhile in our own little worlds soaking it all in. 

We spoke briefly across a freshwater channel cutting across the beach and full props to him 'cause he came from much farther away and got there first. Eventually small clumps of other people started to wander down onto the beach, and I realized I was fine with just turning around and going straight home without taking any other walk or hike. I was home by 7:30 and had a second cup of coffee.

I wasn't on the beach for terribly long but I'm going to splurge on extras 'cause it's the only way to get even close to capturing the experience. One for each end of the beach, and one for the view behind me when looking away from the ocean. 

(Side Note: Personally, I find it amusing that the name of this place is Sand Beach, which seems a bit like calling something Woody Tree or Watery Pond. But beaches here are mostly cobblestones, so there it is. The true irony is that technically this beach isn't that sandy. It's mostly various kinds of crushed shell, and foams up if you pour vinegar on it.) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.