karisfitch

By karisfitch

Sabbath

Love the prayer that’s read every Sunday on Lectio365:

“May this day bring sabbath rest to my heart and my home.

May God’s image in me be restored, and my imagination in God be re-storied.

May the gravity of material things be lightened, and the relativity of time slow down.

May I know grace to embrace my own finite smallness in the arms of God’s infinite greatness.

May God’s Word feed me and his Spirit lead me into the week and into the life to come.”

Especially that line in bold...much of my worries would never have existed, if only I really believed that! And maybe we’d be able to help people in the way they really needed, if I saw myself as small as I really am. Chatting to Grandma this evening about what it really means to help people. I know what it doesn’t mean - making people feel smaller than me, with less to offer, purely recipients of charity. Every person has something to give.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.