A Dangerous Corner

Not today but many times before I was happy not to get run over by a speeding car. Others have been run over. The last one was a 16-year-old young American cyclist 7 or 8 years ago. I remember being out for a walk on the other side of the village from where I could see the rescue helicopter arrive and leave (not knowing what had happened). The poor boy didn't survive; there is still a wayside cross with his name on it where he got hit.

The last time I was in danger here was around Christmas on the way home from a walk. I was already half way down the road to my safe turnoff, when one car came from the left and one from the right, forcing me to jump. Caused some yelling on my side..... This corner is not so far away from the village, but drivers don't expect pedestrians on the street - and pedestrians have no options, they have to walk on the street for some 200 meters. Long 200 meters. 

This "selfmade traffic mirror" was most likely put up by a farmer who has made the same experice when trying to get on the main street from one of the meadows.

19:20; 14,5°C

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.