SamAgainPlease

By SamAgainPlease

That's why the lady's a lamp

This Venus "statue" (it's plastic, does that mean it's still a statue?) is all I have left of a "rain lamp" I bought second hand in the late 80s? (when They Might Be Giants loomed large in my life - hence she got the name you see here).

I think the lamp was from the 70s or 80s.  I used to have a lot of kitsch in my life, most of it cheap so it's all broken now.  This lamp was one of my centrepieces.

I was going to describe her in great detail but then did a quick search and... a picture (and youtubes) speak a thousand words.

Anyway, mine ran out of oil and, without the aid of the internet, I tried to fix the lamp and pump but failed, so I threw it all out except for her.  It stank anyway (as in it did not smell good).

She lurks in our fairy garden.  I like to think she's never been happier.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.