Four generations

I felt a little low because I am so tired of all the isolation- even on a comfortable level. So I started a talk (thanks to Facebook) with a friend that I hadn’t seen or spoken since 11 years. She has lived all her life on Ruegen, the biggest German island in the Baltic Sea. That was the German Democratic Republic until 1989 and those parts of Germany are still feeling the aftereffects of being controlled and shut off from the world until now. My grandparents lived in a neighboring town and that was how we met in the early eighties and became friends. She was pregnant and I was living alone with my little daughter, so we had a lot to talk about.
She is a teacher for art and German language and I got through her in contact with several eastern German writers.

She is 15 years younger than I am, so still teaching in these difficult times, mostly by internet. It was so good to be able to catch up and to learn that she has become a grandma recently. So this picture that she sent me shows greatgrandmother , grandmother, mother and baby child. I post it because I loved to see them all together and because our talk brightened my day.

Thank you for your stars and hearts on my camellias!
I try to be a little less in the internet and don’t get the announcements of faves in my Mailbox anymore. So, if I miss one, please forgive me and know that I am always very happy to get the appreciation and your comment!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.