Down Low

Mr Mole and I hiked in 51 degree sunshine along the path above Quarry Rock Falls into the woods.  I discovered an area with flat-branched tree club moss, that I thought was hemlock seedlings.  He found a hidden kayak in a sturdy cover tied to trees part way down a very steep hill, high above the river.  It's an odd place for a kayak, unless perhaps the owner can fly.  Looking down into another ravine we also sadly spied a wall of rocks with a cave, etc. that was covered in spray-painted graffiti.

We made it to the big ravine where the Buckeye Trail heads toward Squaw Rock.  Mr Mole chose our return route which, as usual, was extremely steep and an aerobic exercise.  I had to sit on a beech log to catch my breath at the top.  He's soaking in the tub as I write. 

The orange witchhazel opened today for the first time this season.

"La La Means I Love You" was not written by Smokey Robinson but by William Hart and Thom Bell.  Not first sang by Smokey but the Delfonics in Philly in 1968.  Now you know.  I like Todd Rundgren's version too.

Thanks for your visits.  I'm caught up again after yesterday's backblip. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.