National Anthem Day

I’ve lived in Canada (O’ Canada), Scotland (God Save the Queen) and the USA (The Star Spangled Banner), so have had to learn 3 National Anthems over the years.

I remember in kindergarten the teacher asking if anyone knew the National Anthem and I enthusiastically said yes. I began to sing O’ Canada as she began to play God Save the Queen on the piano.

It was the beginning of my long career of getting into trouble for being too clever for my own good. I stopped singing and asked the teacher if she was stupid and not know the National Anthem?!

That was the year that Canada was changing it’s National Anthem from God Save the Queen to O’ Canada.

I can still clearly picture the teacher sitting at the piano to this day and the look of horror on her face.

Happy Hump Day
Stay home if you can and take care of yourself and each other xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.