Red, Green, and Blue

By GemmoMC

Beasts of the Southern Wild

In the wake of the Oscars, I've added several award nominated films on my Netflix queue. I start off with Beasts of the Southern Wild. Quvenzhané Wallis, 9 years old, stars in a nominated performance for Best Actress. She was an excellent actress in the film. She showed great emotion and skill considering she was about 7 during the filming. I wasn't a big fan of the movie though. I'm so used to Hollywood endings that sad films or stories that don't fully captivate me just don't get high ratings. It's a shame Netflix don't let users give half ratings. I would have given this movie a 3 1/2 star rating out of 5. But I say this movie is worth watching. Hushpuppy, Wallis's character shows great courage despite her circumstances in the Bathtub. (I love that name. The Bathtub is Hushpuppy's home in a New Orleans floodplain.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.