Tiny boats

Today's stamp is a boat from 1975, for a change you can clearly see the date on the frank. I believe that the summer of 1975 would have been my last year before starting primary school in the september of that year. Apparently I'd been in nursery for a while already. Allegedly my nursery headmistress had told my mum that I would pass my 11+ at that age - thankfully no one told me, so I didn't have to worry about it.

Work was a pain, a client's system we upgraded had stopped working and things were piling up on a colleague, so it was a case of manning the pumps and doing my best to help out. Thankfully there was a SAP note that fixed a side effect of an earlier note, once that was applied things started to work properly again. I like that SAP describe a bug as a side effect! I think spent several hours hiring and transferring various people to test the HR system - I didn't do the firing...! You have to get a bit creative with names, we hired Reggie Perrin as a cleaner, and last year I saw that it was Quentin Tarantino...!

After work, we also started to watch The Man in Room 301, which is set and made in Finland in Finnish, but the actual story is British... When we watch your typical Scandi-noir you can hear so many words in common with English, but with Finnish, everything is utterly alien! Other than sauna Wikipedia lists no common words in English of Finnish origin...!

Apparently English words come from the following places:
29% Latin
29% French (inc Norman - French is Latin in origin)
26% Old/Middle English, Dutch, Old Norse...
6% Greek
6% Everything else
4% Proper names

So modern English is actually 60% French/Latin sitting on top of Middle English....! Finnish doesn't really get look in...!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.