Seelye

By Seelye

Goodbye Earl!

Every February I get a letter from my tax guy. This year the letter said unless you really needed to see him, not to book an appointment and to drop things off. Totally understandable with Covid plus Earl is 80 or 81 years old. He is a character and a half, feisty, an old codger that could spin a tale. I usually spend close to an hour with him swapping stories. So it felt kind of crummy to gather my stuff and drop it off today. I told the guy at the front counter he had to tell Earl I was sending a hug and a kiss to him. The guy got a funny look and told me Earl died almost 2 weeks ago quickly and unexpectedly. I could not speak for a bit, when I did, my voice broke as I said "I loved Earl." I had gone to him for 25 years and shall always miss him. Goodbye Earl...

It's no surprise every customer has reacted the same way I did. I left there stunned and drove to this park to get out and walk which is where I took today's photo. There was a poor ole guy in the park selling snow cones and bags of popcorn. I bought a bag because I knew he needs income...that popcorn was as stale as I thought it would be but it made me feel good to buy it. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.