creative lenna

By creativelenna

Bridge over our River

Our town is building a bridge over the Braden River, very near where we live. It is really quite fascinating for us to watch the process of this build. We take our boat Chelsea out to view what's new, motoring by the work site slowly. They are working far out into the river now, about 10 months into the project. In this photo they are using a huge drill, operated by a very large crane to make a hole in the riverbed & place one of the cement pilings in (like a utility pole). A number of these pilings in a row with a cap over the top is the support for the road part of the bridge.

This is a long process that will take an estimated 2.5 years. Besides the bridge, there's road widening being done and the elimination of a dangerous stop sign with a traffic light installed in it's place instead. The wildlife seems to be adapting to all of this and I don't think it will be a problem. It provides the contuation of a road that was incomplete, plus a good way to travel from east to west and vice versa!

This photo was taken with my *new camera* that I ordered and received yesterday. It is a Panasonic Lumix DC-FZ80K! A super zoom bridge camera, the type I favor. I'm just figuring out how it works a little bit today, but already I am impressed. The photos I took seemed very clear and crisp -Steve thought so too.. I am delighted!! As I learn more about it, I will share. ;0) lenna

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.