StephenGimages

By StephenGimages

Holy Trinity Church Hull

I intended a quick pop in on my way to The Deep. Well forget that
Its a beautiful place, full of character and interesting features, tiny and huge. The church wardens were so welcoming and helpful. I even got taken behind the scenes to see a small room containing the oldest stained glass in the church.
I intend to go back, both here and to Hull in general.Many thaks to them.

I'l be putting an album on my website once I get time to work on the images.

In the meantime, Wikipedia info.

It is the largest parish church in England when floor area is the measurement for comparison. The church dates back to about 1300[1] and contains what is widely acknowledged to be some of the finest mediæval brick-work in the country, particularly in the transepts. Holy Trinity Church is now a Grade I listed building.

Holy Trinity Church is a member of the Greater Churches Group.
William Wiberforce, who led the parliamentary campaign against the slave trade, was baptised in Holy Trinity Church

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.