randomgirl

By randomgirl

Deserted house among the trees

I often walk past this sight, on my way around the Achnagairn House Estate. The Moniack Burn that runs through the local Glen, also winds it's way through here (there's a lovely burn-side path just to the right of these trees), on it's way out to the Beauly Firth and the sea.

When I first started walking here I used to wonder why there was a mysterious and rather odd looking deserted house in such a strange location! You can't get up really close because it's surrounded by boggy ground and only has windows on the top floor as far as I remember.

Eventually I bumped into somebody who lived nearby and asked them about it. It is the old Pump house that belonged to the estate and was used to pump water up to Achnagairn House from the Burn! So mystery solved....but I kind of preferred it when it was still a mystery!

Does anyone know the identity of this interesting flower in the extra? I keep seeing it in this area at this particular time of year? It was growing near to the boggy ground.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.