Ristosan's Journal

By ristosan

Turn, Turn, Turn (To Everything There Is A Season)

by Judy Collins

My mother's funeral service was very touching. One of the touching moments when two members of the Lotta Svärd Foundation brought their wreath, and the organist played Veteraanin Iltahuuto (The veteran's evening cry), usually sung at World War II veterans' funeral. My mother served as a junior "Lotta" and then also as an adult "Lotta" during the war. This was the women's auxiliary force taking care of air surveillance, nursing, etc. duties while the men took care of the front line soldiering. My mother was very patriotic and also proud of her war time service.

The priest conducting the service actually chose the song  by quoting  the part of the Book of Ecclesiastes containing more or less the lyrics of Turn, Turn, Turn. 

An old friend from England sent me the very comforting poem "She has gone" from a book used in the Church of England (to my understanding). I translated it to Finnish and finished my speech at the commemoration event held within the family - see extra for the poem and my Finnish translation of it. Concerning the event - in these Covid days, the priest told us that he was forbidden to participate in any such events.    

A heavy but also a comforting day with lots of tears but also smiles when thinking and talking about my mother and her life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.