Car Fast

Since my car will be in the garage for at least another 3+ weeks, I decided involuntarily-voluntarily last night to give the garage car back today and go on a car fast until Easter. The garage car would cost me 24 € a day and I'm not willing to pay that and the cost of the repair (which will be around 700 € they say).
So in the late morning I drove their car back to the garage and walked to the nearest train station (only 1,3 km). Declined two offers to get picked up.
On my way to the train station I was looking for the part of the wheel suspension/spring that I lost on the last meters on my way to the garage after hearing a big bang yesterday - and I sure found it, blipped it and took it home (extra 1).

While waiting for a train a fully loaded and very long car train was parked right in front of me (extra 2). One couldn't make this up.

The main blip was taken on my way home across the Landstuhler Bruch after arriving at "my" train station. If I follow the street it's a little less than 3 km to home (not too bad), but I choose a detour and visitet the water buffalos at the Kranichwoog. The sun was shining and a cold wind blowing, but it didn't bother me. First euphoria...

There will be a lot of working from home in the coming weeks - as much as possible. I have a plan B and C and D and E for the days when I have to go to the office, cross your fingers.
B - walk (evenings yes, not keen about it in the dark and cold mornings, no street lights)
C - cycle (same as B)
D - ask my neighbour for a morning ride (she is overcautiously with contacts because of COVID 19 so not sure yet)
E - take a bus+bus+bus or bus+train+bus to Kaiserslautern (takes ages, last option; there is no bus to "my" train station; I live in the flat country....)

Most important: Compared to yesterday I feel really good today. Clocked up 11000 steps so far easily.

(What I don't understand at all is why it takes 3 weeks to get the broken part! Do they have to knit it in Japan and send it by a horse-drawn carriage?)

19:50; 2°C

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.