Marionb

By Marionb

Our Station Gallery

At last, The Whitby Station Gallery has just now opened its doors again. Masks required, but come on in! The art gallery is housed in a 1903 Grand Trunk Railway station that had once been slated for demolition back in 1970. A local art group saved the building by purchasing it for $1.00 on the condition they move it to a new location. It now sits just down the street from me. At one time, a London and Port Stanley box car was added to house the printing-making studio, but has since been removed. Later a large extension was added and now houses the main exhibition area. 
I read that the current exhibition, "Beyond the Carnival 4" celebrates Black History month and features a group of photographers known as the Canadian Caribbean Photographic Arts Collective. They state: "Our lenses are pointed in all directions but as people of the Caribbean who now call Canada home, we bring a unique Canadian perspective which we are happy to share through our exhibits."   Hmm Interesting...
It was another cold and windy day today, and I just didn't feel like getting bundled up and going out into it. But going to a photo exhibit seemed like an appropriate substitute, so I went and was the only person there! I asked for and received permission to post anything I shot inside the gallery. I had intended to highlight the gallery itself as it is an interesting building, but then I could not resist adding a couple of examples of the exhibit photographs in my extras. My two favourites were by Jenny Baboola; both are shots of Caribbean carnivals and are entitled "Ocean Surprise" and "Fire" 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.