Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Hot pink in a world of beige

I received this birthday card from my friend Shirley whom I have known for most of my adult life.   She knows me well as the inside of the card says...here's to women like you...women who boldly do their own thing...who make up their own rules...who turn up the volume when expected to be quiet.     Yep, she hit the nail on the head.  She is 10 years older than I am and has always been "timid" about doing or trying new things but for some reason we have always been true friends.    Of course she only ever went on one escapade with me and I think she figured out I was just too adventurous!   I love her.

The birthday "cake" is a fried pie..cherry and cream cheese.  Homemade by a little old lady (what!!!!  I AM a little old lady!) who supplies a local farmer's market with all sorts of pies such as apple, peach, blueberry (strawberry is coming soon!) on Saturday mornings.    The crust is so flaky.  I don't know if everyone has fried pies where they live; they may be called something else.   The filling is centered on the crust, then it is folded over and crimped shut, then is deep fried in peanut oil until golden brown.  Really, really good eating!      

A good day but one of those days where I have been busy all day but don't seem to have accomplished anything!  

Happy weekend, Blippers!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.