Rodents rule

By squirk

Prop

We've nicknamed the two black-and-white newbies Perch and Prop. This one is Prop as he/she doesn't have a black chin. They are fascinated by the birds and squirrels in the garden and not at all bothered by Juno. I sense that Juno is biding his time and might even be amused at the enthusiasm of these youngsters, muttering "they'll soon realise they'll never catch a squirrel" under his breath. Soon after this shot, I looked out to see Juno a metre or so behind Prop with the fur along his back in Stegosaurus mode (or mohican). Prop was still staring at the birds. Perch was another metre away at the base of the plum tree, also staring at the birds.

In the afternoon, while vacuuming, I picked up a curious bit from the rug. I quickly chucked it in the bin. Juno is still top killer here. He'd caught himself a mouse snack, but obviously didn't wish to eat whatever bit this was. Yeurgh.

Poppy was happily enthusiastic for her walk and chase-the-ball this afternoon. She won, as always. We met the Scotsman with his Jack Russell on the way back and exchanged a cheery hello. 

This evening, Ancestry came up with an excellent clue for the demise of my Grandad's father – a link to a local news archive. I couldn't get my hands on that particular news article, but using the dates and the wording in the clue, I found a column inch or two in The Nairnshire Telegraph from September 2015 that detailed what had happened in the inquiry. So we now know that my great grandad fell between the platform and a moving goods train while he was exchanging tablets with the fireman on the train. It was midnight and very dark with only one lamp burning on the platform at Alves Station. My great grandad was also rushing to complete the task – had he been on the platform when the train arrived, it is thought the accident would not have happened. He died in Gray's Hospital, Elgin, the following morning after quite horrific injuries. My granded was only a year old at the time.

Having no idea what a "tablet" is, I've looked it up and I think it a metal disc that when handed to the fireman gave that train the right of way on a single line. More here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.